When someone thinks of classic vegan foods, they usually think of meat substitutes such as tofu as well as fruits and vegetables. However, there are many foods and dishes that even non-vegans enjoy on a regular basis that qualify as vegan. For those who have not read Vegan Digest and have not completely understood what constitutes a vegan food, a vegan food is one that does not require an animal to be produced. This means that foods cannot have meat, fish, dairy or eggs in any part of the recipe. But, here are some delicious and at least somewhat nutritious foods that you may be surprised are vegan:
1) Pasta with tomato sauce – Pasta is made almost entirely of grains, which does not require the suffering or involuntary effort of any animals to produce. But, only pasta without any butter is considered vegan, since butter is made from cow products. Tomato sauce can contain meat, but certain sauces, including the ones served in most dining halls on campus, are made without any animal products.
2) Oreos – Although Oreos are not the epitome of healthy food, they do not contain any dairy or egg products that one might find in similar dessert options. Oreos are comprised of sugar, flour, canola oil and artificial chocolate flavoring. Most desserts with chocolate components are not vegan, since most chocolate is comprised of milk; however, Oreos do not contain any real chocolate, so they are an acceptable dessert for any vegan dinner party.
3) Unfrosted Pop-Tarts – The Pop-Tarts themselves are made of flour, corn syrup, sugar and soybean oil, while the fruity fillings are made of dried fruits, citric acid, baking soda and more sugar. Unfortunately, the frosted Pop-Tarts are full of gelatin and various dairy components, so anyone on a vegan diet would be better off having an unfrosted Pop-Tart for breakfast or for a midnight snack.
4) Hummus and Fritos – Since pita chips are not always guaranteed to be vegan, Fritos are a good option to ensure that your snack is completely vegan. Hummus is made of garbanzo beans and various oils that make it a delicious source of protein and a good dip for any chip. Fritos, despite not being served as widely as Lay’s Potato Chips, are made mostly of corn products, which make it a good alternative to pita chips and potato chips.
5) Peanut butter and jelly sandwiches – Most peanut butter is vegan, but to ensure the purest quality, choose the fresh ground peanut butter options in the dining halls to add to a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. A peanut butter and jelly sandwich is a healthy and filling lunch option that is enjoyed by people of all ages and food preferences, with the exception of those with severe nut allergies. But, the classics never die, and it does not involve any animal products to taste gourmet.